My Own Public Service Announcement

Minolta DSC

I’ve decided to pass this along because I had no idea and I figure some of you may not have any idea either.  Sometimes information falls in our laps when we are least expecting it. At least, that’s how it was for me.  Here’s how it ll came about ………

As you recall from my last post, I was anticipating driving four hours up to Raleigh to bring my grandchildren (and one friend) back to the beach.  Long day!   When Jim and I … he’s such a good guy to go along with all this … got to Raleigh, we were informed by my almost 13 year old granddaughter, that her friend, Claire, probably wasn’t going to be coming.  It seems she didn’t really “know” me and wasn’t sure about coming down with us.  Or maybe it was her mom, there was some confusion about that.

Here’s how the conversation went …

Lila: Claire isn’t going to come.  She says she doesn’t know you.  But, she does.  She met you before.

Me:  Sure, she did.  At Shane’s birthday pool party.

Lila:  Right.  So she knows you.  And you’re the good kind of Grandma.  You don’t wear lots of makeup and jewelry and dress inappropriately for your age.

MeLaughing inside, but keeping a straight face.  So, is she really not coming?  What a shame!  How upset you must be.

Lila:  Well, maybe it’s her mother.

Me:  Maybe I should go meet her mom so she can see I’m the good kind of grandma.

Well, within a short period of time, it all got worked out and we received word that Claire was, in fact, going to come.

Now for all you grandmas out there who think building good karma is the way to be the good kind of grandma, something changes between six and thirteen.  My six year old grandson is all about me playing with him and letting him eat all the junk food he wants.  Not to mention spending all his time on his electronics.  Oh, and throwing Grandma’s back out jumping the waves, requiring a visit to the chiropractor.

I knew the part about not speaking to the girls unless spoken to, although that does not include asking what they want for breakfast.  But, it does pertain to everything else.  Jim forgot that lesson and was greeted with blank, horrified stares.  And we knew not to expect them to sit at the same table with us at Chick-fil-A.  But, the makeup/jewelry/inappropriate dressing thing?  Who knew?  Well, we all do now.  Thank you very much!

2 thoughts on “My Own Public Service Announcement

Leave a Reply

