I just want to have fun!

Everyone has been asking why I haven’t written anything lately.  Well … two of you did.  But, who’s counting?  I’m sure that as you read this, the rest of you are saying, “Yeah, she’s back!”  Is that unbridled, enthusiastic clapping I hear?

Where have I been?  Having fun, of course.  After all, I’m retired and happy.

It began back at the end of February into early March with a trip to the Gulf Coast of Florida.  Friends from Pennsylvania rent an apartment on Anna Maria Island for several months of the winter.  After being asked to come stay with them several times over several years, I found I had no schedule conflicts and why pass up a free stay?   I mean, really!  They’re paying the rent, which must be considerable, and all I had to do was eat and drink!  This apartment was on a block long street with the Gulf to the right and some bay to the left. Tampa?  Bradenton?  Remember, I’m retired — and my short term memory is practically none existent.

I so wanted to go to this!

I so wanted to go to this!

We went out barhopping one day and found a local hangout that was a hoot — the Drift Inn.  I so wanted to go to their pajama party that night.  After all, it was be there or be square and I’ve had a life long fear of being square! But, we had to pass along our regrets –full schedule and all that!  I’m sure they missed us.  We do bring a party to life, after all. I think we had to go to bed early that night. Or something like that.

Did I mention that Florida drivers make me nervous?  Don’t ask me why since I lived in Southern California for 22 years.  Go figure.  Or maybe it isn’t Florida drivers.  Maybe it’s Jim.  Please, don’t tell him I said that!   Okay, so he already knows. Honestly, I didn’t mean to push that dent into the dashboard.  It just happened when I was using my imaginary brake since I have to push so hard to make it work.

We were back home a few weeks when we left for a trip out West.  I have a timeshare in Laguna Beach, CA that I haven’t used in I don’t remember how long.  The last several years I’ve offered it for free on Facebook if someone would just use my week. No takers.   Now all I’ve heard recently from friends is, “I would have loved to use it.  I love Laguna Beach!”  I guess they don’t read my posts on Facebook any more than they do this blog.  Hmmm….

We flew to Las Vegas to spend a few days, first, since Jim had never been there.  There is something so vibrant about that place.  You feel the need to gamble even when you don’t like gambling, don’t you?  I have to confess though, I miss all the coins dropping into the metal bowl at the bottom of the machine.  Ca-ching, ca-ching!  It just isn’t the same playing with credits. Or just plain ol’ losing your money.

We spent one day going out to the Grand Canyon.  I’d been there when my kids were young, but this time we went to the 0312151313bSkywalk. Let me start out by saying Jim is a daredevil and I hate being a wet blanket. I’m afraid of heights, by the way, but I was determined to do the Skywalk, even if it meant crying like a baby. This was huge!  My daughter will tell you about the time we went up to the second level on the Eiffel Tower and after getting off the elevator, she found me with my arms wrapped around a post with tears streaming down my face. Wimp!  Well, wimp no more.  With ticket in hand and booties on my feet, out I walked.  Hallelujah!  They had solid panels along the edges!  Only the center was see through. The elevation is 4770 feet down. Makes me dizzy just typing that, but as Dora would say, “I did it!”

0314151916

On to Laguna Beach!  Did I mention I don’t like Nevada and California drivers?  No?  Well, I should have.  Despite everyone doing their best to kill us, we made it safely to the timeshare. Take that, drivers!  We explored and visited old friends in Orange County and San Diego.  I got lost looking for my old house.  How embarrassing!  Especially when we had a GPS. None of my friends looked a day older than when I left in 2002. I had the best time.  It was like I never moved and we never skipped a beat.  But, alas, we needed to get home.  We still had more fun to experience.  But that’s the next installment.  Part two, as they say. Catch ya’ later…

Leave a Reply

