4th of July … nothing but fun!

A couple of years ago, when I still had my bakeries, some of the girls in the front were talking about their favorite holiday.  I happened to walk out front and got the question, “Irene, what is your favorite holiday?”  My response?  “The 4th of July!”  To say they were surprised would be putting it mildly.  “What?  More than Christmas?”  “Yes, much more than Christmas.” I love the 4th best because it is a feel good holiday with a minimum of fuss and preparation. It’s all about fun.  You don’t have months of hearing on the news how we are shopping and what it means to retailers … it’s just getting together and having a good time, whether it’s a picnic, pool or beach day.  You buy some hamburger meat, some hot dogs, make some potato salad and beans, get some beer and you have yourself a holiday.  And this one was the best!

On Tuesday, I drove up to Raleigh to bring my grandchildren down to the beach.  My son had to work Tuesday and Wednesday, so rather than hang around up there, I brought them back here on Wednesday.

We got our bathing suits on and headed for the clubhouse pool.  Not wanting to deal with dinner, we had food delivered right to us at the pool.   Grandma let them have their choice of soft drinks, which was a treat in itself.  I let them stay up late, too.  Shane went to bed with his DVD player and watched Despicable Me while lying in bed.   He was a happy camper!

The next day, Thursday, well that’s when Hurricane Arthur was due to arrive.  We had rain since the middle of the night, but it didn’t deter us. After fooling around the house for awhile, we went up to my friend Jim’s house to swim in his “little pool” … aka, hot tub.  wpid-wp-1404741007161.jpegwpid-wp-1404740958131.jpegSo they bubbled and steamed their way through the rain and then poof, it was gone.

 

 

 

 

We headed to the beach then, for some sand castle building.  Because of the rough surf, we couldn’t go in the water.  But, we had fun nevertheless.

My son had planned to come down that day, but was concerned the bad weather and holiday traffic were a bad combination.  So he decided to wait until Friday morning to drive down.  When he got here,  we were off for our community party at the clubhouse. We thought we would do the pool and then beach in the evening, but the kids had too much fun in the pool to take them away.

DSCN0939

DSCN0935 (640x480)We hung around the house a bit and next thing we knew,  it was time for the fireworks!  By the time they got back, Shane said, “Just change my clothes and let me go to sleep.”

 

The next morning, Saturday, they chose to run in the sprinkler.  Really?  Not the pool?  The sprinkler?   Sometimes its the most elementary things that are the most exciting to children.  My son and I tried to position a tub to get filled with water from the sprinkler, but we just couldn’t get it.  No matter where we placed it, nothing went in.  Suddenly Shane, the 5 year old, said, “I know how.”  He then proceeded to hold the sprinkler over the bin and filled it.  Can we say, “Are you smarter than a 5 year old?  

DSCN0927 (640x486)

 DSCN0929 (640x432)

After sprinklers, we got the bikes out of the shed and we had bike riding time. My granddaughter really got a kick out of that.  Where she lives, she doesn’t get to ride bikes that often. So this was a real treat! After feeling a little shaky, she got right into it.  Then came golf cart riding.  And chasing the golf cart while on the bike, with Shane yelling, “You can’t catch me.”  This quite often when Lila was in front of us!  Mid afternoon, miniature golf was on the agenda, then a stop for ice cream at Lila’s favorite place. On the way back … a stop at Subway for sandwiches to take to the beach.  It was very windy and cool there, but we still had fun.  By then, we were pretty worn out and just watched TV and played on the iPad and Kindle.

Sunday morning brought more bike riding and golf cart riding DSCN0943 (640x461) and then it was time to load the car to get them to their mothers’s.  There were two tired but happy kids and two tired and satisfied adults as they were backing out of the driveway. There is nothing that makes a  grandmother happier than seeing her family happy. And the 4th of July is just that kind of holiday.  I honestly feel it was the best one ever. The kids head to school tomorrow … year round in their case.  And with it comes apprehension.  Shane starts kindergarten and Lila starts middle school.  Big changes for both.

I’m a happy grandma this evening!

4 thoughts on “4th of July … nothing but fun!

    • It is, isn’t it? We work our whole lives so we can enjoy retirement. There’s no guarantee how long it will be, so we MUST make the most of it! Thank you for your comment.

      Like

  1. High Irene C, are you from South Carolina? I was born there but live In Virginia. I am just curious what retirement Life is like where you are in SC cost of living and so on. I am a Retirement Advisor and it is nice to here about other locations for my clients.

    Like

    • Hi Kursti,
      Actually, SC is where I retired to. I was born and raised in Pittsbugh, PA. After some years in Ohio, I lived in Southern California for 22 years. That was definitely not a place to affordably retire! I still maintain my home in NC because my kids are there, but I spend most of my time here in SC.

      I like it here in the Myrtle Beach area because it isn’t as hot as Florida in the summer or cold as the north in the winter. Gasoline is much cheaper than in NC. The beach is close by. You can spend as much money as you like with all the golfing, shows and restaurants. We have great lifelong learning classes here associated with Coastal Carolina University. I think my utilities are less than in NC, but so is my house. There is an abundance of retirees here, so it must be a place many people decide on. I chose this place as a vacation spot, but ended up living practically full time here.

      If there are any other questions you have, please feel free to ask me.

      Irene

      Like

Leave a Reply

