What Fun!

I’m a little late getting this posted after debarking from my cruise.  But, I had a detour out of state for a couple of days.  Life can’t all be fun and games, even when you are retired. There were 12 of us who went on this cruise — all from the same neighborhood, except one.

 scan0007 (640x505)

We had a great time. Unfortunately, the weather didn’t cooperate for most of it.  Not that it impacted it greatly, but we did have to consider it. We left out of Charleston on a 5 night Carnival cruise to the Bahamas.

cruise 5.01.14 (14)

We’ve been to the Bahamas before, had a fantastic time at Atlantis on Paradise Island and had planned to do it again. But the price of this excursion had gone up dramatically and with the prediction of rain and storms, we didn’t want to spend our money and not get the benefit of it.  As it turned out, the weather was fine and we could have done it, although I’m not sure we were prepared to spend all that money on it.  So we shopped around town, then had a few beers to rest up for our walk back onto the ship!  All in all, I would say we had a good time in the port of Nassau.

 We went to Freeport as well.

 cruise 5.01.14 (30)

While there we took a trip to a beach where we spent the afternoon and had a good time there.  The water was actually warmer than the air.  There were quite a number of college age kids who went on this tour too. It was interesting talking to them.  They were having a really good time before having to take on the serious business of earning a livelihood.  Actually, a much better time than Jim and I.  Made me want to be a kid again and party with gay abandon!  It was all you could eat and drink.  I think drinking was more of their emphasis!  Back on the ship, there were more good times.

cruise 5.01.14 (28)

Who had the bigger belly, Jim or Joe?

 cruise 5.01.14 (2)

Taking a rest from all the Motown music dancing. The band was a real favorite of everyone.  They did an excellent job!

 cruise 5.01.14 (3)

And of course, some of Jim’s hijinks.  I kept laughing so hard while taking this photo, I had trouble keeping the camera steady.  He wanted one of us to take off our bra so he could hang it on her finger and take a picture of it.  But, there were lots of elementary age kids on the ship who stayed up quite late and I wouldn’t do it.  Party Pooper!!  Someone had to be an adult in this crowd!  But, you have to admit, it would have been a funny picture, right?

Some had good luck with the slot machines, but I was not one of them.  One of these days I’m going to get lucky … with gambling, that is.  I still think I might win Powerball, don’t you?

The next morning we were back in Charleston and making our way back home.  We all agreed that it was a lot of fun and there were a few who wanted to schedule a meeting to plan when we were going to take our next one.  But, Jim and I have a road trip planned this summer.  I haven’t been further into New England than Connecticut and I want to head up there for a look see.  I want to stop in Washington, D.C. and go to the Smithsonian along the way.  And then, onto Boston. Seeing the Boston Pops concert on the Charles River on the 4th of July is on my bucket list, but I don’t think it will work out this trip though.  So … there’s always next year.

The pool here is open now and the parties will be starting up for the summer. There will be lots of good times to look forward to here in Murrells Inlet.  I have no intention of sitting back and watching life pass me by without being actively involved!

Leave a Reply

