Wii Bowling

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m excited to go on my next cruise.  Since Spring has finally arrived, there is a considerable amount of outside cleanup I need to get done.  I’ve been working pretty hard to get a little ahead of it, so when I come back I won’t have so much to do.

This time of the year is all about rejuvenation — both physically and mentally.  It’s getting warm enough to go to the beach without bundling up.  The pool is open and that means hanging with friends and pool parties.

Unfortunately, it’s also the end of our Wii bowling season.  We will start up again in the fall.  I’m going to miss it.  We have two sessions each week.  One session is at 2:00 and is referred to as The Temperance League, jokingly, of course.  The other session is at 5:00 and is much larger and is made up of those who drink and those who don’t.  This is the one I go to.

Now, for those of you who have never done Wii bowling — here’s what it’s about.  You have it up on the TV screen and you use a remote controller as your bowling ball.  It’s much easier on your arm and thumb than a bowling ball.    My shoulder gets tired when I throw a ball and I always have a hard time finding a ball that my thumb fits into nicely.  The hole is either too large or too small.  No problem with using a remote!  It weighs ounces and you only really use your index finger!

Now, what really makes it fun is the people.  Unfortunately, a few of our bowlers have had some health issues preventing them from being able to attend.  And I can tell you … they are sorely missed.  For their wisecracks … not their bowling!   There are a lot of comments like, “good job”, “way to go”, “nice pick up”, but there are also, “I’ll give you a dollar if you get that” and “what kind of strike was that?”  When someone actually gets it and the others have to pay up, there’s a lot of chatter then!  And a lot of kudos, not to mention cheers.

Some take the game more seriously than others, but in good fun.  We have two bowlers, Tammy and Jim, who occasionally bowl a 300 game.  I think there is a competition between them — maybe more so from Jim than Tammy.  The rest of us are just trying not to embarrass ourselves too much.  But we do, more than we’d like, I think!

I understand there is an Internet competition that some of us have thought would be nice to get into.  But, we’ve never really checked it out for details.  I think that might be a consideration during the summer if they have the competition then.  We could do it during the afternoon when we need a break from the sun.

All I know is I’m going to miss it.  Most of us don’t like anything to interfere with our Wii bowling night.  The last time I felt this way was when I was hooked on “24” and nothing would cause me to miss it.  Next week is our last night and I’m already missing it.

Irene

 

Leave a Reply

